Exploration Study: Summaries

This post is taken from the summary pages for the Exploration Study, a requirement for the Technology module that was handed in at the end of January. I’ve summarised my construction, structural and environmental strategies for the Poplar Baths project. Even if what i design changes significantly, these summaries help me to see what is important to me in terms of my aims for the project and work much like my design aims (see this post).

 

1. Structural Summary:

The design aims for the structure of the building and how I have achieved these are as follows…

1. Use paper tubes as the main construction material: I have used paper tubes and bricks widely throughout the structure of the design, especially in the design of the structure of the bridge
2. Use the industrial/public heritage of the building in the design of the technology: I have created an industrial feel by keeping the structure open and visible and by keeping the structure simple and easy to build
3. Some areas should be transparent and others enclosed: The lobby area and the workshop are both transparent areas of the overall form of the building, while the offices and the private spaces are much more enclosed and shut away
4. The form should be based on the original building and developing the opportunities that presents: This is true in my use of the plan and the existing spaces to create offices, a large workshop and purpose-designed community space
5. Symmetry is crucial to the success of the design: I have kept to the symmetry of the plan in the workshop and especially in the bridge, where this is crucial
6. The form should be flexible and easy to navigate: In designing the lobby and its relationship with the rest of the building I have tried to keep sight-lines and easy access to all areas of the building. The spaces will all be flexible.
7. There should be contrast in the volumes of space: The huge workshop with its very high ceiling contrasts with the smaller, narrow office spaces. I have brought this to the forefront of my design in bringing these two spaces together with the mezzanine over the workshop
8. The overall structure and design should lead to a stimulating working environment for the architects: I believe that the additions I have proposed and the re-use of the spaces fulfils this.

 

2. Construction Summary

The design aims for the construction of the building and how I have achieved these are as follows…

1. The use of technology should be expressive: As this building is for architects to work in and to research new technologies, I wanted the way it is built to be expressive and visible. I think that I have achieved this in the bridge, which I have detailed to be open and visible
2. The technology should be evident when you step inside, but not from the outside: This is true of the design so far; the outside is welcoming and ‘swish’, while the inside is slightly more homely and chaotic in its architecture. I wanted this as it shows the building isn’t finished yet; it is a work in progress
3. The links between the old and the new should be exploited to illustrate this: I have detailed the bridge and the way it only connects to the existing structure in four places to maximise this design aim
4. The construction detailing should be expressive but minimal; streamlined: I have tried to make this true of all the details I have used so far, choosing to use cast aluminium details instead of welded tubes to get that streamlined finish
5. The architecture should work, but should show its process in how it is detailed and put together: This is true of the bridge in particular and I look forward to working out how I can do this with the mezzanine and the changes to the lobby, as well as the rest of the spaces.

 

3. Environmental Strategy

The design aims for the environmental aspects of the building and how I have achieved these are as follows…

1. Poplar Baths should be sustainably redeveloped using local materials: In using paper recycled from local sources for the majority of the structure of the office I have managed to fulfil this aim as much as I am able to at this point in time
2. Refurbishment of the original façade and entrance to link it back to the history of the area: I haven’t yet had a chance to look at the facade but I plan to refurbish it as much as possible as it is a real local landmark and will add to the community value of the office
3. The project should show a clear response to the site and the location; not just the immediate but the community as well. This should include links with the DLR line next to the site: Obviously this is quite hard when working with an existing building but I feel that the internal changes I have made as well as the concept behind the project show a real concern for the site and local community
4. The internal environment should be well thought-through for both community and architects: In continuing to develop the technology and the design side by side I am working out what this means for both community and architects.
5. Use of noise for enhancement of the atmosphere where appropriate: In looking at the acoustics of the workshop I have touched on this and look forward to exploring it in more detail
6. Use recycled local materials in both the refurbishment of the baths and the research-based projects: As explained in point 1, I would plan to use locally sourced paper in the construction and to further these links for the research
7. Be of a sustainable design to inspire the local community to be more sustainable: This applies more to the concept behind the project but also challenges me to design a building that is sustainable in a way that can teach others how to be sustainable. This includes teaching spaces and a building that is interesting in its sustainability.

Leave a comment